Writing From Factor X

April 17, 2011

Sunday Linkspam

Filed under: Signal Boost — Sciatrix @ 1:57 pm
Tags: ,

As usual, feel free to self-promote or link to other asexuality-related things in the comments!

From Jenny at Lashings of Ginger Beer: Choosing Not To Have Sex: Why the Big Deal?

Sexual freedom for women is a big deal deal. A very big deal. And unfortunately, to some people my choice to take this freedom and choose to not have sex seems like a betrayal. Or perhaps, a sign that I’m not as free as I think.

From s. e. smith at Tiger Beatdown: Life Among the One Percent

It is critical to not just pay lip service to asexuality, but to actively learn about it; by talking to asexual people, by exploring resources we design for ourselves, by including us in discussions to take advantage of the experience we can bring to the table.

From several people: Responses to Having an Asexual Friend Creates Many Benefits (linking for commentary)

And also, yeah, I totally want someone to be my friend because they collect people of different sexualities, wtf

From The Carnal Asexual: Pinpointing the color red–An examination of different types of sex

There is more than one type of sex, just as there is more than one type of love.  For some reason, no one is examining types of sex.  Sex is sex is sex.  Only it’s not.  Not for me.  And there don’t appear to be words with which to explain this.

From vaultedthewall: tl;dr: Sexuality and Relationships

I’ve tried to make asexual characters more times than I can count, in an effort to do the whole ‘YEAH! BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE IN THE WORLD!’ thing (most recently: Chrome was originally going to be played as asexual) but as soon as I start getting some chemistry-like CR with another character I just drop it like it’s hot, because I can’t stop thinking about how hard those interactions are for me in Real Life and I just … don’t want to put my characters through that. This is fantasy, and in my fantasy, I can be some sembiance of ‘normal’.

From qbqt: maybe I should ask more questions haha

I just think it’s kind of weird and maybe a bit stupid that it seems from my answers that people HAVE to have sexual characters, and that asexual characters in mainstream writing just plain don’t exist/get noticed, for however much that’s true. Maybe that’s my point.

From Asexcapades: The Opinions of Some Random People

“We are created to procreate.” What a simplistic view of humanity–or of life in general, of any species. This statement is not just acephobic; it also invalidates the love of couples who can’t procreate, like homosexuals, those who don’t fit into the heteronormative mold, or even just people who are infertile–it is like saying, because you have no desire to or cannot procreate, you are worthless. I like to think that my worth is located somewhere other than in my pants.

From The Human Library: Talking about relationships

I still love people. I still set myself up in roles around them. Why does it have to be a significant other that I only do this around?

From Hacking the Heart: Oh hai

And I think that’s one of the biggest revelations I’ve had this year – I need to start developing relationships that work the best for me.  Not for society, not for what anyone expects me to do.

From anotheramoeba: An introduction

As for a history of my aceness, well. I knew I was ace a long time before I could admit it to myself, let alone anyone else.

Not technically asexuality-related but interesting:

From Thought Catalog: Why I Love My Straight Boyfriend

So what exactly does a contemporary relationship between a gay man and a straight man look like?

3 Comments »

  1. Your linkspams are so helpful. Thank you.

    Comment by Tom — April 17, 2011 @ 7:07 pm | Reply

    • No problem! I’m glad you find them useful!

      Comment by Sciatrix — April 17, 2011 @ 7:15 pm | Reply

  2. I’m reluctant to post and don’t have much to say. As long as Asexuality is considered to be part of the problem, these statistics will not be tracked. This is difficult for me because my mother, who was not Asexual died because America’s mental health system failed her.

    Comment by Shawn Landis — April 19, 2011 @ 11:05 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

